Family Meals


February 4, 2011

Good morning.  Here is some food for thought from Our Land of Pleasant Living.

As a teacher, it amazes me how many of my students stop at a fast food restaurant on the way to school.  It saddens me to think that this upcoming generation is spending mealtime waiting at a counter to be served prepared fast food.  Don’t get me wrong, I know from experience that fast food does come in handy once in a while, but it should be a rare occurance not a daily habit.

Their is a nationwide campaign against childhood obesity.  I think as a nation, we should strive to return to the kitchen table.  I believe it is essential to the family as a well as a community.  When I was raising my family,  the kitchen or dining room table served as a meeting place.  I would bring my daytimer and pencil in the upcoming events in sports and social life of three very popular and active daughters.  I continue to do this today with my husband.

Yes, it does take a little advance preparation but with the internet and cooking channels offering a wide selection of healthy meals, you should give it a try.  You may just live a healthier and wealthier life.

 See you soon,

Margaret

Leave a Reply

