Ball jars and cookbook update……………


I read the Washington Post Science Section yesterday.  There was an article about the changes that spring brings about in people.  One observation is the longer days improves people’s mood.  This I firmly believe.  The author also stated about reorganizing and rejuvenating one’s relationship and homes.  After reading an article,  I set it down and walked into our pantry/office.  There were boxes of ball jars, boxes and just “stuff”.  I felt a tightening in my chest and took a deep breath.  I knew it was time to deal with a very small portion of this havoc.

I thought of my friend, Amelia, who recently moved south to an island with warm weather.  What did she have to deal with before making that big move?  I guess it was little by little…baby steps.  I decided if I passed away, I would be embarrassed from heaven.  So, I decided to get started.

Since my back injury is keep me restricted in every way, baby steps were taken.  In fact, it was one jar at a time that I dealt with.  I carried them downstairs and settled them into boxes.  It took me 2 hours and I cannot believe how many ball jars I have.

Power outage………..will continue

Actually how fortunate.  We ended up eating oysters at Petie Greens down in Deale and sat next a fun,, retired couple who just return from vacationing in Alaska.  They go every year in the winter.  They were very well traveled and interesting.  She shared a story of how, when she decided she was “hot” for her husband who was from North Dakota, what food she would prepare for him.  Since she grew up in Fairhaven, she thought that the soft shell crab would do the trick.  Well she went on to tell us that her mother carefully packed up the soft shells and she traveled to meet his parents.  She fixed dinner one night and served them the soft shells.  They took one look at it and stated that they were not going to eat that spider!  Nonfluffed… she proceeded to eat them all.  There was no sense wasting a good soft shell.  I proceeded to tell her my story of Rick bringing home soft shells for  me to prepare.  I had never seen them before myself but he was so proud.  So, I figure why not serve them Asian style.  So, I cooked them in soy sauce.  They were terrible but he ate them anyway………..why waste a good softshell.

At this point her husband, who was busy eating, told us that she stole his heart with her cherry pie.  Well, Rick, who had finished his fried oysters, stated that his heart was taken with my cherry cheese cake.  BTW, the oysters were from Smith Island….salty and delicious!

The cookbook update is that I have just one more chapter summary and I will shoot it off to Amelia who has graciously said she would take a look at it.  I cannot believe that it has taken me 2 years to get to this stage.  I have one solid chapter to show the publishers and a lot of notes to transcribe.  Does anyone know how to publish an e-book?

That is all for now except that the twins will be going to the circus this weekend with James.  Sounds like a lot of fun!

Until later,

Margaret

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. James
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 02:11:38

    Cherry cheesecake!

    Reply

  2. Amelia
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 15:33:43

    nice new theme, etc!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

